Serial communication help

Hello. I am new to the programing this year, so I thought I would try to do some before competition time. We are hopefully showing off last year’s robot at homecomming. To make it more interesting, I ordered a chip called the Speakjet which can make the robot speak. All I have to do is send messages to its serial pin with the number of the sound it needs to make. I would like to use one of the digital I/O pins instead of the program port as I only need one data lien and a ground. With a stamp, I would just use the SEROUT command and specify the pin number. However, I have no idea how to make the IFI controler do the same thing.
Ideally, I could send it the words to say via the program port and a terminal app on my laptop, but I kind of think that might be a little difficult. Thanks in advance.

P.S. I though it would be interesting to give the robot the voice of the W.O.P.R. from the war games movie. Then it cam roll up to the head of the chess club and say “Greetings professor. How about a nice game of chess?” Just like in the movie.

There’s a second serial port on the RC, labeled TTL. That second programming port works just like the 1st. If the sound chip needs RS232 levels, you can use the little converter board that came with the cmucams.

Ideally, I could send it the words to say via the program port and a terminal app on my laptop

What prevents you from connecting the laptop directly to the sound chip?

If you don’t have the CMUCAM level shifter, it is almost trivial to build one with a MAX232 or MAX233 chip – add a few caps, a few wires and some solder and you’re in business.