Sheet metal fabrication tools

Other than a pair of snips, a carbide blade on a table saw, and a small band saw, our team doesn’t have any tools for working with sheet metal. I’m wondering if anyone has any recommendations for what we should acquire as I’m largely ignorant of what’s out there.

Three tools I’ve come across are a press brake, a shear, and a slip roll. They look pretty straightforward, but I have no experience. Harbor Freight has a 30" all-in-one model for $400. Would we be smart to get one? Does anyone have any experience to share?

Another tool I’ve found is a bead roller. Eastwood has one for $150. Harbor Freight also has an economy model for a bit more. It looks like one could use thinner sheets of aluminum, and create the rigidity of a thicker sheet using this tool, but without the extra weight. Does anyone have any experience to share?

Not to knock harbor freight too much, But anything with HF in the name will not handle the heavier gauge AL that most of us use. That is not what they are made for. The same goes for most of the multi-function sheet metal tools.

Thanks. The HF model shear can only cut up to 20 ga., so not much. It can bend and roll thicker gauges up to 16.

My teams has this, and it’s been a bit of a pain. The press brake works nicely, but the shear and the roller are another story. The rollers aren’t the easiest to adjust to produce the correct bend, and it’s not the greatest construction. The shear can work, but it’s awful hard to cut anything, and we were able to crack the bottom table cutting some sheet metal.

So, overall, I don’t know if I’d recommend it. It works and it’s rather cheap for all the machines it combines, but I’m sure there are other options that could work better.

Thanks for the review. That’s what I need to know and I’ll keep shopping. I’m guessing that a shear, a press brake and a slip roller of a better quality would be good tools to have. Are they worth it for the money?