Silliest FRC Match

I misread the title of this thread as match and not merch Silliest frc merch

So now I desire to manifest my misreading into existence. What are some of the silliest FRC matches?

11 Likes

2008 Waterloo Regional qual 17:

Famously called “The worst match in FRC history” :open_mouth:

18 Likes
8 Likes

The ranking system was so poorly designed in 2010 that it made more sense for the blue alliance to play this match by scoring on themselves - this locked 1114 into the number one seed.

7 Likes

Match video is the actual match, to be clear.

6 Likes

This brings back some hilarious memories of running the webcast with Karthik and Copiloli, trying to bring fun to this event was a real challenge. But the genius of Paul and Karthik made this a really fun event to be at and watch somehow. We even devised webcast games to collect outlandish words that Paul had to insert into his game announcing to try and keep the fun going.

7 Likes

This is my first time seeing this match! Wha’s the story here? Why are there only 2 robots on the field? I’m super curious.

COTS has really raised the floor.

6 Likes

Do you know what the G22 penalty mentioned was for?

Robots were only allowed to go around the field counter-clockwise. The method of enforcement was that you couldn’t cross the white lines that divided the field into quarters in the wrong direction. G22 was the penalty for doing that.

Direction Of Traffic – ROBOTS must proceed around the TRACK in a counter-clockwise
direction. Once a ROBOT has CROSSED a LANE MARKER or FINISH LINE, it shall not
break the plane of the line by moving in the clockwise direction. A PENALTY will be
assigned for each infraction.

1 Like

In 2005 at an off-season (I forget if it was Mayhem in Merrimack or RiverRage) they had three teams that had two robots there. During lunch they played a match where it was robots designed for that game vs past years robots.