Simulating Robot Code in WPILIB causes several errors to appear

I’m new to programming this year, and I have had several issues trying to figure out the program. I finally got it to display no problems, but when I try to simulate the robot code, several errors show up that I’m not completely sure how to fix.
I am also not 100% sure what pneumatics or compressor modules I should be using for this program.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

Error at frc.robot.Robot.(Robot.java:52): Unhandled exception instantiating robot edu.wpi.first.wpilibj.PneumaticsBase java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Unknown module type
at edu.wpi.first.wpilibj.PneumaticsBase.getForType(PneumaticsBase.java:21)
at edu.wpi.first.wpilibj.Compressor.(Compressor.java:35)
at frc.robot.Robot.(Robot.java:52)
at edu.wpi.first.wpilibj.RobotBase.runRobot(RobotBase.java:322)
at edu.wpi.first.wpilibj.RobotBase.lambda$startRobot$0(RobotBase.java:443)
at java.base/java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:829)

(https://github.com/Smitefall/FRC-Drive-Train/blob/22dbe27f6743a9d06b29346263a6d247b12b0ee9/Team%207654%20Drive%20Train)

You’re giving the compressor constructor null instead of a module type. Replace null with PneumaticsModuleType.CTREPCM like you did with the solenoid.

Thank you! That actually got the simulator working; now I’m trying to figure out the errors for the driving of the robot:

at frc.robot.Robot.(Robot.java:52)
at edu.wpi.first.wpilibj.RobotBase.runRobot(RobotBase.java:322)
at edu.wpi.first.wpilibj.RobotBase.lambda$startRobot$0(RobotBase.java:443)

You’re missing the actual error. I recommend reading through this page a few times. Reading Stacktraces — FIRST Robotics Competition documentation

1 Like

You’re getting into the world of understanding the difference between compile time and run time errors.

Here’s a decent write up explaining this conceptually in Java.