<G04> At the discretion of the alliance, one (and only one) TETRA may be in the possession of one ROBOT in
each alliance at the beginning of the match. The TETRA must be completely SUPPORTED by the ROBOT,
not in contact with either the floor or any field element, and the ROBOT – including any MECHANISMS
designed to hold the TETRA – must still satisfy the volume starting constraints specified in <G01>.
Does this mean each alliance get’s one tetra at the beginning of the match?
You get to take a tetra, and give it to one of the robots on your alliance. Then if you have some autonomous code to cap a goal, you’d be able to pick up some points in autonomous while the rest of your team does other things.
in the videos at kickoff it shows the tetra only on the robot that starts in the middle spot, the tetra can be given to anyone of the robots as long as it goes along with all the rules.
What picture are you referring to? Rule G04, which was posted above, states that the ROBOT must be withing the starting constraints, but doesn’t say the Tetra has to start within the constraints.
In other words, you can’t extend your arm to be able to hold the tetra, but if you can grasp it from your starting position, you’re ok.
One question I have is will the robots be able to be powered on before the match in order for it to grasp the tetra, or does it need to be a passive device?
You know - after re-reading G04, better this time, the sentence is:
"The tetra must be completely supported by the robot, not in contact with either the floor or any field element, **and the robot - including any mechanisms design to hold the tetra - must still satisfy the volume starting constraints specified in G01. **
So, now I read it as… so long as your mechanisms holding the tetra at the start of match is within your starting volume, then you’re ok. The tetra itself does not need to be within that volume.