So, what's your favorite part of FRC?

If you say competition, can you be specific?

Sooooo, its my absolute FIRST year in FIRST.
I CAD, I PR, and I stare in amazement at FAB (I don’t think I will ever attempt direct manipulation of the robot. People will get hurt).

So, sitting here on Christmas at a relative’s computer (which I can’t CAD on) I’m pretty much trolling CD. I don’t know what to expect from the seasonn, so anyone want to share experiences?

You know you want to take a break from guessing what hint #1 means…
:slight_smile:

My favorite part is the regionals, expecially now that I’m volunteering and work as field reset. Being apart of the inner workings of maintaining the field has to be the most fun I have had since I graduated and moved on from being on a team.

Even vacuming the field is loads of fun.

The other part, and main reason why I love working on the field is being so close to the game itself. I’ve got that dream to one day work on the GDC, so being so close to the game that I’m walking though it just has some sort of magical quality to me.

I find that it’s the little things that are the best part of FIRST.

The regionals. Design is fun and strategy is fun to work out and feel all clever about for 5 minutes before you realize everyone in America thought of it too. Build is great in that “wow, we have no time, no resources, and no limits!” way. But competition throws everything you did out the window and is all about intensity and execution.

In particular, the eliminations are where the magic happens. Here’s who you’re stuck with, for better or worse - now you have to make it happen.

The build time is the most fun for me. It is when my skills are put to the test and programming in general is fun. I get to present ideas and then put them into action.