Solenoid Control Valve Question

Hello Everyone,

First off, I’m an extreme noob when it comes to pneumatics, so I apologize for any stupid questions.

My question for today is that my team is having a little bit of trouble with the kicker.

We’re using cylinder with a 9" stroke and I believe a 2" bore. We’re trying to use the festo solenoid control valves that were provided in the kits. Actually, I think we’re using the '09 valves.

We can’t seem to get a decent kick out of the system. Now an obvious change was to use a cylinder with a smaller bore and a shorter stroke, but some of our mentors also suggested getting a valve with a large flow rate.

Now, I’m wondering those of you who are using pneumatic kickers, what kinds of valves are you having success with? Or if you are using pneumatics, which valve would you recommend?

A couple of suggestions.

1. read robot rule <R72> part ‘C’ - make sure your mentors and students understand that. ( hint: there are rule limitations as to how big a valve you can use )

2. search around on Chief Delphi about other folks ideas on implementing pneumatic based kickers. there are some pretty decent ideas floating around on how to implement a system.

Per Section 8, The Robot

<R72>
C. Solenoid valves. All such valves must have a maximum ⅛” NPT port diameter, and a maximum Cv of 0.32 (if non-KOP valves are used, the team will be required to provide part documentation validating that the valves meet these constraints).

I interpret the highlighted part as not allowing the “large flow rate” you talked about. The maximun flow coefficient (Cv) for the valve is .32 as stated.

My suggestion is to use a smaller bore cylinder or possibly augmenting the cylinder with some sort of mechanical energy (spring, latex tube etc.).