Sonar Sensor help

Hey guys,
I am attempting to connect a MaxBotics EZ0 Sonar sensor http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8502 to the 2008 FRC robot controller.
I have read through this post: http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/showthread.php?t=42717&highlight=mike+sonar
and have attempted to use Mike’s code to get data from my EZ0 sensor.
The code that Mike posted was designed for Parallax Inc. PING)) Ultrasonic Rangefinder and the Vex Robotics Ultrasonic Range Finder,
but is it possible to use the code with the MaxBotics sensor?
are there any other ways to get a signal from this sensor?
Any help i can get with this sensor is highly appreciated, from getting signal to general operation tips, because i am new to Sonar.
thank you in advance

The Maxbotics Sonars are great… and easy to work with, too. Probably the easiest out there to interface to the IFI controller, in fact. We have used them the past two years.

The simplest way to connect them is using the analog signal. If you look at the datasheet (find the link at the bottom of the page you referenced) you will see that there is an “AN” pin that gives you an analog output of the last measured range. If you hook up your +5, GND and AN (take a servo cable, cut one end off, and solder it to the appropriate points on the sonar, then plug it into the RC’s analog I/O) then all you need to do is read the analog value of the appropriate pin whenever you need a distance measurement. (Page 16 of this document discusses reading the analog inputs.)

You might want to use a printf routine to show you the values that you get at different ranges.

There are more complex ways to use these sonars, too… but this should get you up and running.

Jason

i would rather use the lego mindstorms ultrasonic sensor

which much easier to program

Here is the link http://mindstorms.lego.com/Products/Sensors/Ultrasonic%20Sensor.aspx