Speed controller fan replacement

Is it legal to swap out the fans on the speed controllers? These fans are absolutely pathetic. Not to mention that there are no heatsinks on the fets( or whatever they are). I come from an overclocking background and these fans are absolutely worthless. I want some YStechs

Yes it is legal to swap them out, but I don’t think you can just buy the fans.

does this count as “custom electronics” am i limited to the fans from digi-key and the other place?

Rick,

I’ve been doing FIRST for 9 years now and have used the IF speed controllers since they first came out.

IMHO, you will overheat your motors or trip circuit breakers way before you have problems with the SC.

My advice is that you have bigger problems to worry about and to not fix things that are not broken.

You can buy just the fans from IFI which according to the update would not be added to the $3500 since it is from IFI

I would however agree that you will have a heck of a time getting one of them to fail with the loads that we are putting on them, Battlebots users are starting to use them with huge banks (100+ batteries) of NiCads that dump insane current loads into them and the failure rate is very low.

true. u guys r plolly right.

*Originally posted by Matt Reiland *
**You can buy just the fans from IFI which according to the update would not be added to the $3500 since it is from IFI

Actually, according to rule K5(as amended in team update #2), anything purchased from IFI does not count toward your $200 custom electronics limit, but it does count toward your $3500…

The only problem with the fans/Victors that our team had last year was contamination. If metal shavings or dust got in them, they would overheat and destroy the Victor. Otherwise, the fans work fine if you are making sure they stay clean.

*Originally posted by n[ate]vw *