Square Holes

I thought this was a great video showing off a Japanese tool to machine square holes.

http://www.wimp.com/squareholes/

http://www.dijetusa.com/

Have people used this tool before or some other technique for making square holes in thick metal ?

Wow!!!

Very cool. I’ve never used something like that before personally, but it does seem pretty interesting.

-Brando

Here’s an animation of the principle. Note that it produces slightly radiused corners.

There’s a similar tool (called a mortiser) that does roughly the same thing for wood. It uses a different principle, though: brute force. (It’s a combination chisel and drill.)

Sort of like a Wankel Engine isn’t it?

I have used this technique for years to produce all manner of hole profiles, pentagons, hexagons, even triangles, that are significantly over sized for the drill bit being used. It works best using a very large diameter drill bit held in a small hand held drill. A badly sharpened drill bit works best, as does thin soft material that tends to produce a lot of drill chatter. By hand the technique is a bit difficult to reproduce. I seem to have the best luck getting them to come out with good sharp corners when I am overly rushed, and absolutely need round holes that are not over sized.

Tom

I never thought Chief Delphi needed a “like” button, until now

Yes, its based off the principle of the very same reuleaux triangle as the wankel engine.

Wankle engines actually don’t use a true reuleaux triangle for a rotor profile. A Reuleaux triangle is composed of three 60 degree arcs with centers on the opposite corners. Wankle rotors use an arcs less than 60 degrees with centers beyond the opposite corners. This is important to note because while a Reuleaux triangle is a shape of constant width, a Wankle rotor is not.