Starting Teams: What is important?

Just heads up before getting into this, I am brand new to the Chief Delphi thread posting so I may have done some things wrong.

Mini Introduction: //redacted at request of poster//

Our team has decided for the off season to begin a series of videos to upload to YouTube to help new teams start their journey. We have started planning our first video but I am trying to find new ideas. So what I am asking is what do you guys think is important to note to new teams when starting up a team? Like what should be important for the new teams to know as they startup their journey?

I hope you guys can help me out with this, anything helps. :slight_smile:

Robots are VERY expensive. In addition to the cost of registration and the $4000 limit, consider the cost of event travel, potential future event qualifications and travel, access to a shop space and adequate tools, laptop and driver station costs, the costs of spare parts, things that are considered but don’t ultimately go on the robot.

Make a team budget and (try) to stick to it. Raise all the money you need BEFORE the season starts. There are a ton of grants offered to rookie teams (and teams in general), but you have to go out and find them and write them. Look for sponsors. A good place to start is local businesses. Often times the amount of money you’ll get from a single sponsor will be less, but if you start early, you won’t be competing with as many other charitable causes. Develop a sponsorship presentation and hone it. Create a “rewards tier system” for sponsors, where sponsors who give a certain amount get to redeem a certain (free to your team) award, such as getting their logo on your t-shirt/robot/website, a tour of your workspace, a postseason visit to their business with the robot. Local business are also very likely to become repeat sponsors, since they get a great chance to see where their money is going. Keep them updated on your progress!