Starting the very first team in Japan

Hello, I’ve been working on starting a new team for the first time in Japan right now.

I’ve participated in FRC once in 2011 in Canada. I came back to Japan 2 years ago and now I’m trying to make a new team. But I find this quite hard… I’m just a secondary school student :confused:

I only got 8 people in my team and one sponsor who’ll give us $10,000 (but we need at least $25000!) I’m trying to persuade companies to sponsor us but it’s not working that well. How can I get them interested in FRC and be a sponsor? What kind of companies should I go for?

I know it’s like a dream to have a team in Japan, but I’m thinking, if I didn’t make a team right now then no one will ever do it.

0 Likes

Start with in kind donations of tools, tables, computers, etc. Basically any sort of item/product you need you CAN get for free. Some things are harder than others. We started out asking for ratchets and hand tools then grinder, drill press. Now I’m trying to get a small mill. Just take it slow start with what you absolutely must have and reduce what non-FIRST specific stuff you have to pay for. Also ask for help form a machine shop and ask a lot. I tried over 15 different shops. Only got 2 but I got them.

Edit: Forgot to add that networking and getting to know people in larger companies is the best way to get larger grants. Also don’t underestimate a few $250-$1,000 (I’m talking USD here) from smaller businesses. We got money from a car dealership before.

Edit2: We stared with 6 students 8 is like a legion and competed with a $6,000 (USD) budget this year (obviously you have more travel but you get the picture).

0 Likes

Get the marketing going.
Find effective videos and practice with your fellow acolytes, a presentation.

In this thread:

There is so much discussion about engineers developing effective communication skills.

The Dog & Pony show:

One of the wonderful aspects of FIRST is that is about so much more than the Robot.