Tank Mode help?

I’m trying to code a tank drive and I am very new to it so I am now using the “Example files” from the help menu but I don’t know how to modify them to make them work. Here is my Begin so far:

Here is my Teleop:

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? I get the Talons to light up solid orange but they won’t do anything from there.

I am relatively new to coding but one thing I notice is that you do not have a control mode set for the talons. Also, replace open 2 motors on teleop with RefNum Get. Here are some pictures of my code.

Also, this has been a life saver for me
http://www.team358.org/files/programming/ControlSystem2015-2019/labview/index.php

I currently have all of the Device Numbers set to 0 because I don’t have the electrical done so I don’t know the device numbers yet.

If you are using the default LV project structure, then your Teleop is not compatible with that structure.

Your Teleop is a stand-alone LabVIEW program that defines two Talons as running over PWM (not CAN).

You have Talons on CAN defined in the Begin you showed.

1 Like

Definitely all of Mark’s comments are right. That basically it is mainly the code within the loop of the picture labeled Teleop.vi that should actually be in there. Re-opening motors you opened in Begin.vi and the loop I think will cause the teleop.vi not to finish in the 20ms time.

It may be worth trying to reduce your problem a bit for troubleshooting. Maybe try to get the drive motors all working. Start fresh with a new robot project, to get the correct Teleop.vi also. And if needed, take the other controllers offline (pull circuit breakers). If it points to CAN problems, bypass some until you figure out where the problem is. Once you identify the problem, you can copy code over from your current project.