TCP Listening in C++

How do I use C++ to read data from a TCP port/socket/etc.?

To clarify, we have the LabVIEW dashboard VI sending a bunch of TCP data to port 1500. How do I access (with the C++ on the cRIO) the data that is getting sent to this port?

I have seen some stuff about “winsock” and so forth but I am getting absolutely nowhere as to how to implement it. I mean, even the include statement for “winsock2.h” isn’t working … Does anyone have any insight on this matter? I’m fairly well-versed in C++ but I’m completely new to TCP.

I can’t help you with the TCP part, but based on the 2012-01-20 team update, you might want to choose a different port.

Thanks for that. I think that I will be using UDP instead. UDP 1140 seems like the right choice.

EDIT: Not all my problems are solved. I am still having the same problem figuring out how to listen to a UDP socket.

TCP and UDP code will be horrible to write in C++, especially since LabView is the officially supported language for the cRIO, because NI makes both of them, and C++/Java just happen to work, especially since I don’t think WPILib has anything built in for TCP or UDP. Try using the serial port, WPILib has a class SerialPort.cpp, you would just have to modify the Labview code to send the data via serial port (to do this you will need a null modem cable, not a normal serial cable). Writing serial code for the robot in C++ is extremely easy, and the data can send really fast (not comparatively of course, but you can set the baud rate higher if needed), I think I was able to write the serial code in 3 hours.

TCP and UDP will be much harder, especially since I am not even sure if the cRIO has the capability to do that through C++.

VxWorks supplies sockets, see the code for PCVideoServer