Team 179's Swamp Thing

Hi,

I just wanted to post our status to see what people thought of this crazy thing. We have a little left to do but for the most part we’re ready to go. We’ve been driving for almost 2 weeks now. BTW Thanks to FIRST for a great kit of parts this year. They’ve brought quality to every team right where it matters most (those transmitions and motor mounts are fantastic). They made life sooooo much easier! I also want to give a big thanks to all the kids this year who really put in an outstanding effort. Just think folks, this rush will all be over in 10 more days (I think)… whew…
So anyhow I’m going to attempt to post pics of it (I’m not good at this forum posting stuff) so wish me luck…

http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/pictures.php?s=&action=single&picid=3683

http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/pictures.php?s=&action=single&picid=3682

I’ve also got 3 cool videos I want to post. They’re handy as far as seeing the results of a “low blow” to the tall stacks. I’m going to attempt a link to those on my webspace next…

Go FIRST!

What are you going to do if your alliance mate can’t go under the bar? What about if your opponent can? (i.e. take a smack while you are rolling over the wall?

Other than those two questions, steller, stellar, bot.

wow.

Cool Robot,

I have just one question, how long does it take for you to get over the ramp and start moving?

Our kickstand is off the ground at 1.2 seconds, so if the opponent tried to ram us he’d have to be seriously fast. we’re over the wall and flat on the ramp at 2.2 seconds. Then it takes about 1.5 - 2 seconds to make contact with the bins. Also we can do a 180 in about 1 second, so they can’t sneek up on us.