Team Pins

Hey Guys! M. T. here. I have been collecting team pins for the last 4 years, two district competitions a year, one year of states, one year of words, and buttons from a FLL world competition. I counted last year with a total of about 480 buttons. I was wondering if there were any other avid button collectors out there. Button Counts? Any rare buttons? Any awesome ways to store you buttons?

I have three hats covered in pins, and a huge tote bag full of pins as well.

1 Like

I know I’ve seen someone with an entire lab coat or something that was almost entirely covered in team buttons. Try and find them lol

1 Like

There was a guy at the state competition I went to with a trench coat of buttons that weighed 12 lbs or more

1 Like

My son created a cape out of 7 years of button collection. It weighed over 20 pounds. Make sure you use a strong fabric and consider hot gluing the pins closed because they get bumped off pretty easily in the stands.

1 Like

Wow! That’s pretty awesome, what kind of fabric? How much fabric did he use?

I almost covered a stovepipe hat in buttons, it’s heavy. I can’t wear it anymore because of the sheer weight on my head, along with various pokey thingies. 40+ buttons after 2 regionals.

1 Like

One of our past students put all the buttons she collected each year on a framed canvas and hung them on her wall.

1 Like

I did this and if you can see in the background there are metal detectors, all of the security guards stopped to take a picture of me and agreed to just give me a pat down because of course there was metal on me

1 Like

I tried to do this, but it stretched out my shirt so I put them on my bag

I was thinking of doing something like that

He used denim, but I think canvas would work possible better. It’s not as heavy and it’s pretty robust. He also made a sash for alliance partners and famous teams.

1 Like