Team recruitment

Hey guys so I am fairly new to cheifdelphi and FRC so please excuse my poor explanations.

So me and my friends have recently started a team and we are having some issues with recruitment we are a team for our whole county but our actual member outreach is mainly at one high school with one other member from another. We are currently having trouble with recruiting members from other schools and female members as we are all boys. I would like to ask how you think we should branch out to the other school districts and make our team a place where female members will not feel like the minority/awkward because she is the only female member. Thank you for reading my post and any suggestions are appreciated

0 Likes

I’m sure if you search around you can find some threads on recruitment.

These might help with your second question. Feel free to PM me too.

First Experiences as a Person of Color

Gender Equality: A Work In Progress

0 Likes

First of all, welcome! I would suggest networking with other teams near you to try and help you out with finding recruiting methods that work best for your area. It looks like you are located within the MAR district (as is the team I am on). A great time to network with other teams is at a local kickoff. If you haven’t made plans yet to attend your local one, I would suggest trying to have at least one or two people go. Additionally, Team 365 (MOE) and 4954 (Palindrome) are also in Delaware and might be able to help you out. Some methods that teams use to gain new members are putting up flyers at the local high school and going to community events to try and spread the word of your team. Good luck on finding some new members!

Feel free to email me (email is in my signature) if your team has any other questions during build season! Our team looks forward to having you at our competition, week 1!

0 Likes

Here are three recent threads on recruitment, two of which actually focus on recruiting girls: