team website opinions

I am the web master for MarsWars team 4143. we just finished our rookie season, and now that i have a bit of time i am trying to improve our website. this is the first website that i have designed and i am not a programmer. I am using Weebly to host and design the site. I am looking for tips on how to make the website smoother and more aesthetically pleasing.

the url is

www(dot)MarsWars(dot)org

thanks for any input.

I really like your front page and your sponsor pages! However, there is something strange going on with your toolbar… When you scroll over an option, the menu for the option below it slides out?

I have a suggestion about photos. If you could put a 2012 tab in your dropdown menu, it would be good for future years. But also, instead of having links (like to your build season and regional) you could use pictures to make it more aesthetically pleasing. Taking a descriptive picture from that gallery, overlaying some text on it like “Build Season” or something, and making it link to that gallery when you click on it. A row of those would probably look better than a couple links. You could probably do something similar with the videos?

Also, with the videos, it’s really nice to have all your matches embedded in one place. My one worry is that it will take forever to load for people with a slow connection.

I’ll keep looking around. It’s really nice!

I would suggest picking a non-standard font and use it for everything your team does. The body doesn’t have to be this font, but Make headings and titles in it. We have a font we use on everything, even our robot bumpers. You also might want to work on the tabs, they are a little bit off, like when you are on pictures, the 2012 menu shows up too low. Other than that it is a really nice website, feel free to look at ours if you need some inspiration. www.teamdriven.us

Here’s a few of my passing thoughts,