Teams that got away...

Hello everybody,

This year, FIRST had over 800 teams (or so I heard). And there were numbers all the way into the thousands. Why? I have looked at the answers that are in the numbering thread, but it raises a few new questions.

First, I can find no meaningful information about teams that went away, for whatever reason. Have ten teams dropped out? A hundred? Who knows? If anyone has any clue, please inform me. Otherwise, I would like to get a list of former teams together.

Second, I want to know if any students from former teams still stick with FIRST, and also (maybe) ChiefDelphi. It would be interesting to see an analysis of the present through the eyes of someone who loves FIRST, but is no longer able to build.

If anyone can enlighten me, please do.

Venkatesh

I want a cookie:]

I was a rookie last year so I am not really sure about this, but maybe the numbers weren’t given out in consecutive order. For example, numbers could have been given out like…

200,201,205,207,211,214 etc.

not…

200,201,202,203,204,205 etc.

Therefore, there aren’t as many teams as it sounds.

I kno there’s no team 666…

I know there are teams whom no longer exist…
as for numbers, I’m not really sure, but I think someone said that if a team is interested they are given number XX1, then the next would get XX2, and so on. However, say XX1 does not stay involved, and can not compete that year… the number is then skipped over in the future. I’m probably way off, but oh well.:]

I can’t offer too much info, but I believe they used to re-number everybody every year. They haven’t done so in quite a few years, though. I would hope they don’t plan on doing so any time in the near future, either, with all of the team#-specific clothing, domain names, and general recognition there is by team #s.