Third Encoder Channel

Yo. I’m new to encoders. From what I can understand, the default code at Kevin Watson’s website only allows for two channels: the first channel uses analog inputs 1 & 6, and the second uses analog inputs 2 & 8. Does anyone know how to create a third encoder channel? Any help will be highly appreciated. Thank you.

First of all, they are digital I/O channels, not analog. You can use DIO3-6 for the next interrupt input (phase A) and almost any unused digital channel for phase B.

It’s not hard, but you do have to know what you’re doing to get it right.

We’re using three encoders. Two of them are on pins 1&7 and 2&8, using essentially Kevin’s code. The third is on pins 3&9, with a few lines of interrupt initialization and service routine copied from Kevin’s interrupts.c to dispatch the third encoder’s handler when INT4 occurs. There is also an extra check to call the handler only when INT4 was triggered by a falling edge of the signal on pin 3. (That part of the code seems a little inconsistent, as if the input pin were going low and then high again before we had a chance to look at it. I’m considering wiring in a hardware pulse-stretch circuit to deal with it.)

To avoid extra interrupts that we would just have to ignore, we have nothing connected to pins 4-6.

Alan,

The simplest way to do this is with a D-type flip-flop (e.g., 74ACT74, 74HCT74, 74LS74, etc.). The encoder’s phase-A signal goes to the the clock input and the RC interrupt input. The phase-B signal goes to the flip-flop’s D input and the Q output goes to the RC digital input formally used by the phase-B signal. I prototyped this circuit and saw a pretty dramatic increase in the maximum count rate that the RC could handle.

-Kevin

Three quick questions:

1. Must interrupts 3-6 be enabled/disabled as a package? i.e. you cannot ONLY enable 3, but not 4-6? I am using two encoders and the Hall Effect sensor, and need only 3 interrupts, and would rather not have to enable 6 of them.