Thoughts on a vacuum suction intake?

With a suction intake it is possible to have one mechanism for both the cargo and the hatches, what are the downsides to using a vacuum intake? I’m pretty new to this and was just doing some research and wanted to get ur guys’ thoughts.

One issue you may discover is that suction requires a fair bit of air pressure to generate. The compressors we use on the field are designed for a 10% duty cycle, so running the compressor continuously for the duration of the match is not only unsafe but also loads and drains your battery quickly.

It probably could be done, but there’s a good reason that most FIRST students have never seen one on the field.

Not too bad to test for yourselves. We prototyped with a small shop vac and found comparable results to the armabot that we purchased later. This was last year with the power cube. The impeller was similar size to the shop vac but we couldn’t determine the rpm of the shop vac. The armabot uses the 775pro so it’s around 20,000 rpm. We used the vacuum on the power cube with pretty good results during the season. The only downside for this is that there is only about 5 inches of diameter for a vacuum to attach to on the hatch. That is small, we had around 9 inches diameter for the power cube. When we used something smaller, we dropped cubes fairly frequently in a match.

I think it’s a pretty good idea (and have been encouraging my old team to try it).

For FRC, it’s a lot more practical to use a motor than pneumatics to generate suction, since more power is available and there are no potential conflicts with pneumatics rules. For example, see this or this or this.

i believe someone on our team was considering a venturi generator, though i’m not sure about the pros and cons.

We’ve been looking into it. Prototyped using a CIM to control a shop vac. Worked on the hatches and the cargo.

Awesome thanks! Does it look like it will be efficient?