Tipping over.

While watching at VCU I noticed many many bots falling over. At least 1 every couple of matches. There was even one match where I believe 3 bots tipped over (it was either a qf or sf match and the only bot I remember was 116 I believe).

This is my first year, so my question is: In previous year, was it common for bots to tip over? Also would tipping an opponent bot over be a legal strategy? (not very nice, but doesn’t break any rules as far as I can see)

<G32> Strategies aimed solely at the destruction, damage, tipping over or entanglement of robots are not in the spirit of the FIRST Robotics Competition and are not allowed. Accidental tipping over of a robot is not considered damaging and may be allowed at the discretion of the referees. Intentional stabbing, cutting, etc., is illegal. If a breach of this rule occurs, the team will be disqualified for that match. Repeated offenses could result in a team being disqualified from the remainder of the regional competition and/or championship event.

And yes in the past few years is has not been uncommon for robots to fall over. Especially last year.

It mainly depends on the calibur and foresight of the given team…a ten foot high bar requires a ten foot long arm to reach it…that, for all you science buffs out there, will make your center of gravity very very very high…causing tips…the one twist that has really caught this years challenge is the steps…wheels up steps is not the greatest combination in the world…this causes many of the falls that you saw…its not uncommon for a robot to flip…however i think that the nature of this years game tends to attract such falls

From section 7:

**[left]<T04> Robots may not intentionally:[/left]
[left]
• Detach Parts (no connection at all to a robot);
[/left]
[left]
• Damage another robot;
[/left]
[left]• Tip over another robot;[/left]
[left]• Attach themselves to the vertical supports of the pull-up bar system;[/left]