Tips for amature film person

I am the media head on my robotics team and am in charge of the documentation of pictures and video. I have been doing YouTube for about two years however nothing ever too serious and my quality of documentation this past year were not as good as I think they could be. So I was wondering if anyone has any tips or knows of a good totorial series that I can look into to learn how to become a better filmmaker/photographer?

Hi Yamin,

I’m not in the Media section of our Robotics team, but I do love making documentaries. :smiley: One of the key things to making good videos/photos is having the right equipment – good camera, editing software, tripod, etc.

If you’re currently using iMovie or Windows Movie Maker, (which are both great softwares for editing) they will be sufficient for whatever you need to do. More professional softwares produce more professional videos. You get what you pay for. I use Vegas Pro 13, for example. However, there are ways to produce similar ‘effects’ using a low-cost editor. A great Youtube channel to follow is The Meejah Channel.

For videos for Chairman’s Award, etc, your editing style should vary with your video’s theme. I would suggest watching professional videos that have the same theme as your video. Our team did a ‘News Reporter’ Theme for 2015 Chairman’s Award, so the editing was similar to an actual newscast and had special effects for the on-screen text.

Make sure you keep in mind of the audience’s attention span. If you’re making videos where one person talks for a long period of time, you might want to add photos while the voice-over plays in the background.

That’s all I have for now. I might add more if I come up with anything else. But if you need someone to give suggestions to your team’s videos, I’d be happy to review them. :wink:

Thank you for your tips! :slight_smile: They are much appreciated!