Tips & Tricks for C++ environment

TL;DR:
I’m new to the C++ programming environment and am looking for some good tips, tricks and code repositories.

Hello,
so my team (7700) is a new team, and we participated in the 2019 competition. Since we didn’t have much time to get started, I programmed our robot in LabVIEW. After experiencing the pain that is LabVIEW (I feel that it is a good language, but not the right one for this task), I decided that I wanted to switch over to a script based language. I chose C++, as I feel it is the best since it’s basically an industry standard, and there is also (probably) the most support for it.

Since we are a new team and haven’t used C++ before, I was wondering if I could get any tips & tricks on using C++. I am looking for good code repositories and a few things that you have learned over the years that you think you should mention to any newbies. (Do note: I am not new to script-based languages, as I have used others in the past. Though, I will be training people who have never coded before.) I will be reading the WPILbi, so anything that is mentioned in there doesn’t need to be said there, I’m just looking for stuff that you wouldn’t find there.

Thanks for your time
~solo Team 7700 | Head Programmer | Head Electrician | Head Pneumatics

(I’m also new to chiefdelphi, so feel free to yell at me in the comments if I did something wrong.)

Oh boy.
I got even less help here, then on reddit.
I… didn’t expect that…

Hey,