To M.E. or not to M.E. for me...

Posted by Ken.

Student on team #192, Gunn Robotics Team, from Henry M. Gunn Senior High School.

Posted on 10/21/2000 1:23 AM MST

The following is a long essay about my thoughts of what I want to do, and a question of what I should do. I doubt any reader will have enough patience to finish this, but I can no longer hold my thought to myself. I will be grateful to any time people spend reading this, or maybe even a tiny respond. But I AM hoping to get some advice from people…

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- As I said before, I am a mechanical engineering major student. I picked this major because I am amazed about how simple “little things” work just the way you want it to when you use it right (during the robotics competition of course). Little things like: nuts & bolts and wrenches, screws & screw drivers, washers and bearings, gears, pulleys, wheels, sprockets & chains, hammers, pliers… And they work just because of simple physics. To me, they represent consistency, ingenuity, reliability, and efficiency.

After those “little things” came our 70 years old machines: Band saw, lathe, vertical mill, sander, and grinder.  They gave me the precision I never had when come to “making” parts, compare to the days when I only have papers, scissors and Elmer’s glue.  In addition, after learning how to use AutoCAD, I learned to express ideas with precise measurements through drawings.  Heck, those drawings look a lot straighter and rounder than my old crayon drawings of the sun.

Finally, when you put those things together, you can make complicated machines such as the robots in this competition. And when you go even deeper, you can create more sophisticated machines like automobiles, surgical robotic-arm, aircrafts… etc. So I love how all these are created because of the simple physics and the “little things”. YEAH!!!