Toggle switch problems

I’ve been working with lab view for maybe a year now and I’ve been talking with a programmer for a couple of months trying to get a toggle switch to work. I have what I believe is correct for the programming wiring in labview. I’ve set up a ref num in begin .vi and set up a back ref to begin .vi in a new vi I made. But yet when I deploy it I can’t control the motor.

Post your code.

What do you mean by a “toggle switch”? I can think of at least three things you might be referring to, and they’re all completely different.

What do you want to do with the switch? Be as specific as you can.

By a toggle switch I mean you press a button on a joystick once and the motor turns on. You press the same button again and it turns off.

http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1029709&postcount=2

If you set it up like this, you can make it a SubVI with an input and output instead. This is useful if you want to have multiple toggles in your code, so that your Teleop.vi doesn’t get as cluttered.

Oh wow. ok this is so much more complicated then I’ve been told. I’ve been told by someone on FIRST forums that it was a lot simpler. http://forums.usfirst.org/showthread.php?p=58107#post58107
That was the forum with everything I’ve been using, and what you posted there is so much different then what I’ve seen. :confused:

a much easier way would be to have a local/global variable , and when you click a joystick button, in a case structure read the value, wire it to a not, and write the value to the variable. It is a lot less confusing then the previous posts and just as effective

Actually, the previous post is the more professional way of doing it. Globals and locals, in almost any language, are the least common denominator and often not the best approach. Next time you write a simple expression that has localized state data, try using a shift register. Next time you have an expression needed in multiple places, try using a subVI.

Greg McKaskle