total noob question :)

Ok, so I know that this year we can program the robot in any of the three languages:

LabView
C
C++

and we will probably do it in LabView, but I was wondering if anyone knew where there is a place for a good C tutorial. I know a bit about C, thanks to C For Dummies, but I’m almost positive that doesn’t have everything I need to know, so if anyone knows where I could find more tutorials on C that would be amazing, thanks guys

I believe there is a C for dummies book out, and a C++ for dummies, but no LapView for Dummies.

Some teams make C tutorials I’ve been told, you can find some online, there also lots of books that can instruction one in programming, but free, well, I’m not sure…

Are you not able to get a mentor? I mean there are quite a bit of tech companies in Idaho that you should totally go ask for mentors!

Hehe, I thought Dean Kammen’s speech was really good today, despite its length. =]

http://www.cprogramming.com/ is pretty good and Stanford has free online recordings of their CS department lectures. I don’t remember the link, though.

http://wiki.lavag.org/LabVIEW_tutorial

There is indeed a LabVIEW for Dummies book (as well as many other resources referenced in the above link).

Russ

There is a C tutorial on the First web site that we used last year during our Rookie year; http://www.usfirst.org/community/frc/content.aspx?id=482

You won’t find a LapVIEW for anything, since it is actually LabVIEW. The book that most closely approaches the dummies book would be LabVIEW for Everyone. There are plenty others too.

Greg McKaskle

I also don’t think LabView is a language.

Technically, you’re correct. LabVIEW is a programming environment, not a language. The language one programs in when using LabVIEW is called “G”.

But most people talk about “programming in LabVIEW”, and they’re technically correct as well. They’re writing and editing programs, in the LabVIEW environment.