Touch Pad Question

Hey everyone, quick question: For the touch pad picture in 3.9 pg 28 is that channel for the rope flush when the pad is fully depressed? If it is not we are a little worried about the channel getting caught in things.
Elijah
4601

When the pad is pressed to score the channel sticks out below it. There are pictures showing this in one of the team updates and I believe they added the picture to the manual as well.

Does it? The picture in the manual is hard to tell if it is.

Consensus is that the C-channel protrudes from the plate when the plate is depressed. There are some other threads that discuss this in more detail. But, I believe that is why they included a drawing in the manual as an update.

You can see it a little in this photo of the Kickoff field in Manchester.
The touchpad is being pushed up only on one side, but you can see the C channel remains below the touchpad on that side.

From the rule book

Figure 3-20 shows the two extreme states of the TOUCHPAD plate. The image on the left shows the TOUCHPAD unactuated and the figure on the right shows one example of an actuated TOUCHPAD (with the plate pressed all the way up). The DAVIT’S steel channel does not move with the TOUCHPAD plate.

That is on page 28 of 130.

My personal interpretation of the c-channel: it is intended as a hard stop.

It is there to ensure that, should your winch draw tight against the DAVIT, you’ll pop a breaker, smoke a motor, break a rope, strip a gear, or snap a shaft – BEFORE you can destroy the TOUCHPAD.