Trademarking

have any teams out there trademarked their team, logos or events that they have? we’re thinking about it and wanted to know if any others have already done it.

Not sure…but could that pose a threat since you’re submitting it to FIRST for them to publish in their little booklet? I’m not much of a legal person…nor do I understand the limitations of trademarks…

no need for my team to go claiming something for us and only us… a few years ago a girl ( Now and alumni ) designed our logo, so it was ours to begin with…legally, wouldn’t she have the rights to it?

da bears logo.gif

da bears logo.gif

We may have a little problem trying to copywrite ours since it is similar to FIRST but im not a lawyer either so i wouldnt know.

naclogosmall.jpg

naclogosmall.jpg

OK gang. Hopefully I can offer some insight. Some points of clarification are needed from a legal standpoint. First of all trademarks and copyrights are different entities. Copyrights are for real and intellectual property while trademarks are primarily for logos and other such visuals. Our team has placed a “TM” behind the Cybersonics logo. This is not the same as trying to copyright the word “Cybersonics”. We don’t want to own the word, we just want our logo to be ours and recognized as such. I sugggest you search online for copyright and trademark laws for more details, but in a nutshell this is what my previous paralegal education has taught me: