Training on project management? (Not tool-specific)

Hi folks, has anyone created a training deck for students on the basic project management process? I’ve been mentoring for 4-5 years now, and our team seems to consistently run out of days long before we finish the build. Generally because the initial plan isn’t monitored or updated. So I want to take our build director and board president through the basic project management principles and looking for something FIRST-specific to rip&reapply cuz I’m lazy/efficient like that :slightly_smiling_face: .

8 Likes

This Might not be exactly what you need, but it helped us

2 Likes

Mentoring and guiding a team through project management is quite the journey! Creating a training deck for basic project management is a solid move. Have you explored project management software for nonprofits? It streamlines tasks, ensures updates, and aligns perfectly with FIRST-specific needs. I get the “rip & reapply” strategy—efficiency at its finest! When training, emphasize the importance of ongoing monitoring and adapting plans. Visual aids, case studies, and real-life examples work wonders in these decks.

1 Like

I had the same thought recently and thought it could be a good video for FUN to host with best practices from mentors and applications by students/team members. I think it varies so much, team to team, so the wide perspectives would be useful. We use many of the tools in PM but it tends to only be the leads that find it useful, when we could do a better job of explaining it to everyone for knowledge transfer.

@Tyler_Olds would love to see a feature on this as our team is starting a “JV” team and it would be nice for them to learn these skills before college

Thanks for the suggestion. We are actually in process of re-vamping FUNdamentals which focusses on education type content and this would be a good fit for what we are looking at doing. I sent the suggestion to the team members for consideration.

6 Likes