Training the Veteran Rookie Coach: Press Fitting Bearings

Hey all,

As I’ve said in the past, I have been a coach for ten years but have only taken on the technical aspects of robot builds over the last year or two. So there are times when I have very rookie questions.

I see discussions about using bearing blocks vs press-fit bearings and for the life of me I can’t figure what it means to have a press-fit other than cutting a hole and sticking the bearing in.

Would someone please dispel my ignorance?

Thanks,
Daniel

Press-fit just means that the hole for the bearing is very slightly undersized compared to bearing. You use an arbor press or similar to force the bearing into the hole, and then it’s held securely. The thing is, for a proper press fit, the bearing bore needs to be quite accurately made: very circular, and to the correct size within a thou or so. If the bore is slightly too large, the bearing falls out; if it’s slightly too small, you can’t press the bearing in. If you have good tooling (a CNC mill (not router) in most cases), you can machine press-fit bearing bores in your drive rails (or wherever). If you don’t have precision machining capability, you can buy bearing blocks, which come with the precision bore already machined, and which just clamp onto your tubes.

I hope that made sense.

As a follow-up question. What amount of undersized-ness should I aim for on bearing holes?

For a complete answer, any good mechanical engineering textbook should have a big section on clearance and interference.

As a rule of thumb, for FRC-standard 1-1/8" OD bearings pressed into aluminum, I usually shoot for 5 tenths under, or 1.1245".