Transportation to events without a car? (NE District Greater Boston Event)

Hey,

So I am a college student planning on volunteering for the NE District Greater Boston Event this March. I currently live about a 20 minute drive from the event on MIT’s campus, but do not have a car or a license. I was thinking about taking public transport, but that takes about 45 minutes to an hour longer, and depending on what time I need to be there in the morning, I am a little bit worried that I may run a little bit late and end up being super late to the competition, but currently I am thinking that this may be my best option for getting there. (Especially since Boston has great public transport.)

(Walking really isn’t an option either since it would take a few hours to walk there. :frowning: )

I am planning on volunteering all three days of the event (although it is possible that this might change) and it costs about 20 dollars each way to take an Uber from where I am, which is pretty expensive.

My question to anyone who has volunteered for competitions and been in a situation like mine (or anyone who has some insights to share) is what would you do in this circumstance? I am currently thinking that public transport is the way to go, since it is a lot cheaper than taking an uber, but are there other alternatives that may take a little less time? Are there ways for volunteers to get in contact with other volunteers to potentially carpool with, or something similar?

Thanks in advance!

Ask your VC if there’s anybody else in your area, and ask them if they can ask that person/people if they’ve got space for a volunteer carpool.

Expanding on this a bit: I’ve carpooled with other volunteers on an occasional basis. Generally it’s someone I know, who’s going the same general direction. Sometimes it’s from the event and sometimes it’s from home. So it’s definitely an option, just needs to be made known that someone does need a ride.

9 Likes