Trouble with Programming Romi

I am pretty new to programming (especially command based) and am having trouble creating a command (or a subsystem) to drive an added motor to our ROMI (called IntakeRoller).

Does anybody have any advice? Link to our code below:

https://github.com/TheResistance4925/4925RomiRamsete/tree/main/src/main/java/frc/robot

1 Like

Hello,
I am on my phone so it is a bit difficult to parse everything. However, I see a few things.

The intake Subsystem does not seem to do anything. If you look at the drive subsystem as an example, it should define the motor to spin the intake and then spin it with some control logic (in periodic or in a separate method).

Once that is done, then you control it in button bindings. You could do what you have with creating a new method in robotContainer, but that is not really necessary.

Edit: To expand on this, you could look at the directions here.

Here is an example (but you may want to do on and off with two separate buttons) that assumes we have an Intake subsystem that instantiates a motor and in it, has a method (runIntakeMotor) to run said motor (which requires a double)

JoystickButton m_intakeOn = new JoystickButton(m_driverController, 3);
            m_intakeOn
              .whenPressed (new RunCommand(()->m_intake.runIntakeMotor(.7), m_intake))
              .whenReleased  (new RunCommand(()->m_intake.runIntakeMotor(0), m_intake));

Thank you for posting this question as we are going to need to figure this out on Monday, and though I knew how to do it in general, I had not gone through the steps of actually implementing it.

1 Like

I see a few things.

The constructor for your IntakeRoller subsystem expects you to pass it… an IntakeRoller? How are you supposed to construct the first one? (Chicken-egg.) It looks like you modeled this class off of the ArcadeDrive code in the template. Note that the m_drivetrain object is a DriveTrain, not an ArcadeDrive.