TTL on an Apple IIe

This isn’t really FRC related, but it is about robots, so I thought I would post it here. Open house is coming up at my school. I thought it would be interesting to make an automated greeter for the door to the tech room. I have a speaking chip that takes TTL serial input. I also have an old 1984 Apple IIe computer. It does not have a serial port, but it does have a 16 pin game port. The port has several pins that can be toggled easily from 0 to +5 volts with the processor being the only limit to the speed. I need to write a serial protocol for it. I know it can be done, but I am not sure where to start. Any suggestions?

I am no expert but I would guess when sonar detects a person (or button in a mat on the floor) send current to the speaker to say “greetings” and if you want use a motor to open the door. If you mean in way of coding I will not be a big help to you.

Maybe I didn’t make myself clear enough. This is a speakJet chip. It generates sounds based on a TTL serial line. I wanted to use my Apple IIe because I really don’t have anything else to use. I happen to have it lying around doing nothing. It has a game port on it. The port has a pin that can be pulsed from 0 to +5 easily. I know there is a way to write a serial protocol based on this port because it can be toggled like a digital I/O pin on the FRC controller. I just am not sure where to start.

Forgot to add. I am not worried about detecting people coming in the room. That problem is easily solved. The game port allows for four button inputs. I can read the button states to tell when people walk in.

Interesting project… I’m not sure of a quick way to program a serial driver for the IIe’s game port. I was always more of a Commodore 64 guy myself (and it did have an RS-232 serial port, so if you’ve got one of those kicking around it might make your job easier… I could even scan the relevant pages from the manual and send them along).