Turorial help

Hey everyone,

I’m fairly new to programing and even newer to c++ for robots and there is a lack of mentor in our team and I can only do so much with just examples. So I was wondering if anyone would be willing to spear some of their time to maybe help tech me c++. I would really appreciate that.

Thanks

Only know java but this is applicable to both.
The best thing I can teach you about how to code bots is how to get help. Upload your code to GitHub, screenshot any error messages and ask a specific question. Good luck and happy coding!

2 Likes

The Compass Alliance provides a 24/7 call center, which might be of interest to you. The Compass Alliance - 24/7 Call Center

Also, I can’t emphasize @Amicus1’s comment enough. We’re happy to help, but we can’t answer open-ended questions. Provide as much information as you can and ask detailed well thought out questions.

1 Like

I can’t quite say I know enough about C++ to be helpful, but I do know something about teaching FRC software.

There’s fundamentally two steps:

First is learning how to program. We’re talking basic data types, control flow operations, data structures, etc. Usually this is learned through a particular language. Interactive online courses tend to be a good method if you don’t have a person available.

Second is learning how to program a robot. This can get really deep - there are lots of robot-related coding practices that would make no sense if you were doing something like making a webserver. For understanding this aspect, I would heavily lean on the example code from wpilib or other hardware vendors. Also, the simpler you keep the software, the less the “robot-specific” aspects will matter.

General beginner advice:

Again, keep it simple and small. If you can’t easily describe, with great detail, exactly what you expect your software to do, you’ll have very very little chance of getting it to actually work.