Ubertubes in starting configuration

Do the ubertubes have to be within the starting configuration or just the components of the robot? If I’m reading correctly, it’s just the robot, but we want to be sure.

No they don’t. They just need to be in contact with the robot.

so if I am correctly interpreting what your saying, the uber tube could be laying on the floor, and the robot can just touch it. Then the robot could then back up and then in its own way pick up the uber tube and then put it on the scoring board. Is this correct?

I Think you are correct. But what were you thinking about doing? Why wouldnt you want to start with the ubertube in your arm??? Because the Autonomous period only lasts for 15 Secconds, wouldnt it be hard to pick the uber tube up and than hang it in 15 secs? Im just wondering, im very intrigued by your idea though. :slight_smile:

It’s possible that they may not be able to hold on to the ubertube and still have their mechanism fit within the robot’s starting configuration. There are several references in the manual and updates regarding ubertube handling…

I’m sure there will be teams that have zero autonomous capability. In such a case, the thought was that the ubertube would be placed on the floor, touching the (no autonomous action) robot. Upon start of teleop, that robot would likely push/herd the ubertube into the opposing alliance’s feeding zone, taking care not to cross into the feeding zone.

The reason for contact and not possession is because FIRST can’t assume every team’s strategy will include tube manipulation, and undoubtedly there will be some teams that choose not to pick up tubes.

Unless i misunderstood the rule, yesterday’s Team Update would make this strategy illegal under <G32>

<G32> Neither ROBOTS, HOSTBOTS, nor MINIBOTS may break the planes of the vertically projected borders of the opponent’s ZONES, including a GAME PIECE in their POSSESSION. Momentary incursions by a POSSESSED GAME PIECE will not be penalized if they do not make contact with anything in the ZONE.

Well if you can accomplish that without incurring a PENALTY for crossing the CENTER LINE, go for it!

bassoondude –
Thanks for pointing that out… I believe you are correct.
I need to commit Update 4 to memory.

:wink:

can the uber tube be ttouching the back of our robot if it has no auto.? so it just gets your opponents way picking up tubes

Apologies Gary… I need to be more careful with wording. I should’ve said “LANE” in this context, instead of “opposing alliance’s feeding zone”.

And with bassoondude’s point of clarification, this would be illegal under team update 4.

The update to <G32> in Team Update 4 specifically refers to POSSESSION of a game piece in the opposong Alliance ZONE. HERDING the game piece into the opposing Alliance LANE should not be a problem.