Ultimate Ascent Catalyst DBS 2013 Simulation Game

I’ve just been trying this out, to get a taste of strategy and robots, just wanted to see other people’s results?

AND, does anyone know the controls for just using a computer keyboard? (I’m a bit new at the simulation game thing)

Personally from my use so far with it I have not liked it a bit. Though I am currently downloading it on my actual computer so I might run faster.

Where is it downloaded? I can not even find it.

link]

Here is the website with the download link. Few things you might have to install first.

PRO TIP: ALT button on computer keyboard = “select”, in game…Now I can play without stealing neighbor’s xbox USB controller.

I installed it, but it won’t launch for some reason. :frowning:

See, I have already been there looking for a download link. There is none. >.< None that I see.

This is a direct link to download the Catalyst 2013 Setup.zip

edit: You need to install the Slim DX Redistributable 4.0 for X86 (even if you are running a 64 bit system) first. That’s another direct download link, by the way.

1 Like

I’ve not been a fan of the Catalyst Simulators. I don’t know if it’s the “game” feeling they have, or if its because I worked really hard on a simulator for each of the past three games, just to find out for the last two that someone else beat me to it.

Edit: By the way, you can hit ESC? and click Controls, and it will display the controls for both the left and right keyboard setups.

It’s an admirable effort but is riddled with issues. A few of our students played it with Xbox controllers for a while but noticed that the majority of rules aren’t properly implemented. Penalties don’t seem to be calculated at all - you can easily score 30 points on the opposite alliance’s pyramid, or interrupt them in their feeding zone, with no consequences (perhaps some of these will be fixed in a future update?) I think there are better ways to gain an understanding of the game.

Thanks a ton!