Update 10: G53 confusion

So update 10 has just been released today and one rule that has been tweaked was G53. It now says:

A ROBOT shall be operated solely by the DRIVERS and/or HUMAN PLAYERS of the team, and/or an ALLIANCE PARTNER within the SPY BOX.

The red reflects the changes made. Does this mean a robot can be controlled from the spy box? Does this change your strategy?

It means I am glad I do not plan on using the spy box heavily.

Does that mean you can run a long controller cord to the spybox and control the robot??

This means that a spy for one team may signal his alliance partner’s robots (with non-powered signals such as flags). It was added in response to question Q803:

  • Q. It appears that several teams are planning to have their spy use non-powered signalling directly to the robot (e.g. flags or scan codes). Does G35 prohibit the spy, who is a member of team BlueA, from using the signals provided by team BlueB during teleop, and if so, which robot is disabled?
  • A. A spy may signal an ALLIANCE partner’s ROBOT from the SPY BOX with a non-powered signalling device. G35 will be edited in Team Update 10 to reflect this.

Since the operator console is required to be contained in the driver station, I think the rule refers to the human player in the spy box sending signals to the robot via vision.