Using Keyboard to Drive

Hey Guys,
I am a rookie programmer on my team and was assigned to work on using arrow keys to drive. I was wondering if anybody has experience and what they used to make their arrow key drive work. I have tried many times, but could not succeed. Any help on making keyboard drive work in C++ would be great. Thanks.

You would have a lot more control if you used the mouse.

We were using arrow keys to test the robot,not to use in the competition. We wanted to use arrow key for non-variable drive. Thanks for your input, however.

We put some keyboard control features on our robot last year. The general scheme was to read the keys in a LabVIEW Dashboard program and send them to the robot using Smart Dashboard variables. The robot can read those variables using any of the supported programming languages.

Could you please upload the Vi you used to get and stream keyboard input to the robot? I am a beginner developer with LabView and understand the concept. The C++ code used to retrieve the data would be nice as well. Thank you very much.

The functions used in the Dashboard to read the keyboard are in the Connectivity -> Input Device Control function palette.

Use the Initialize Keyboard function to get a “device ID” output, and pass that into the loop that reads the keyboard using the Acquire Input Data function. The result will be an array of keys being pressed. If the length of the array is zero, no keys are pressed. If you don’t want to be able to handle multiple keys pressed at the same time, just use an Index Array function to pick out the first element of the array.

The Smart Dashboard functions used to send data to the robot are in the WPI Robotics Library -> Dashboard function palette.

Use the SD Write String function to put the value of the key being pressed (or a null string if no keys are pressed) into a Smart Dashboard variable.