Very impressed with the FRC Control System

After bag day, it’s nice to relax. I like going over what we did well and what we could do better.

Note:
I was a student on 308 from 2011-2014 and I remember how the control system was on those robots, and now my new team, 7226, has (almost) completely new/different control system.

One thing that went VERY smoothly is the control system of the robot.

The RoboRIO is quite awesome. Super resilient. Chips and other metal shavings get everywhere (especially when students are not careful drilling on the robot (protip: they never are)). That thing doesn’t care too much, and won’t fail because of one. Last year, we had a chip in our roborio that cost us a match, and it didn’t fry it, it actually told us where the chip was! (PWM Power rail)

CAN is very nice. It completely changes the game. The CTRE controllers (Talon and Victor specifically) are excellent. The Phoenix Tuner is awesome. Live graphs, very very fast PID tuning, easy configuration. I cannot complain. I remember tuning PIDs back with Labview on the cRIO. It took FOREVER. With the Talon and an AMT encoder attached, we tuned the elevator in less than 30 minutes. Our claw’s wrist took about 45 minutes. It’s crazy that we got all of that working so fast. The PIDs running on the controller with 1000Hz control loop time is incredibly fast and convenient. It makes programming much easier.