VEX Product Alternatives for FRC

As many of the… less proactive… teams like ours start to compile our order lists for the pre-season, we’re going to need alternatives for VEX products. There’s a lot of vendors out there and I’m far from an expert on them and their product offerings.

I’ve seen some threads for FTC/VRC teams looking to swap from VEX products, and some component-specific threads, but not a general thread for harbor-freight-style “compare to” requests.

This will hopefully be a good place for overworked mentors to dump part numbers and receive suggestions for alternatives from those of us with every part and product number memorized.

For new requests, include the product’s name, VEX part number, and a link to the VEX product page so that it’s easier for others to help you. If you have specific constraints that you need the alternative to meet, please list those as well. Also, before posting, use the search tool to search for posts in the thread that include the VEX part number.

I’ll start. I’m looking for close-to-“drop in” replacements for:

Have you looked through \ considered posting on this thread? Seems to have the same aim:

3 Likes

@Ryan_Dognaux has one in the elevator pre-order kit- Half Inch Hex Coupler - TTB-0055, hopefully it’ll be available for purchase individually eventually.

Looks like AndyMark has one too.

Personally I like the REV one

I’ve sourced equivalents from Amazon before, eg this one.

2 Likes

For the hex shaft coupler, I believe this fills the same purpose:

In regards to the chain tools, i have found the vex ones to be an absolute pain to work with.

Rev has a chain breaker for # 25 chain that goes ok:

This has been my absolute favourite chian breaker to use, it accomodates # 35 chain:

1 Like

Dang, knew it was a little strange that I’d be the first person to post this.

Re: Hex couplers