Video Editing/Recording Questions

Editing Recommendations:
So, I have been editing and uploading videos since 2012. I am not new to this but I have been very limited with only basic editing tools. iMovie has been about the only program I have used for years now. I like the simplicity of it. The only problem is it is mainly for people just starting to learn to edit. So of course it is very limiting with like titles, transitions, and a restricted timeline. I want to expand my skills with more in depth settings. I have heard of Sony Vegas Pro and want to try it. Sadly I can not because since I last checked it was only for PC.I am very curious to know if anyone knows of any Mac based editing programs I could try out.

Secondly, I was wondering if anyone would have any tips/advice about editing or recording video for a team. Anything you believe would be good to know while being media for a team.

Thank you!

There are a few options out there. What is your ideal budget? Is Final Cut Pro an option? Adobe Creative Cloud is a great solution, but it subscription-based and the cost will add up over time.

My idea budget would be to try for less than $400. I would prefer a one time payment but a subscription would be fine if it’s worth it.

I’ve been pretty happy with Sony Vegas Pro on the occasion I need to do some serious editing. Unfortunately it looks like the only way to use it on a Mac would be Bootcamp or Wine. If you can get it, I highly recommend it, the learning curve isn’t too bad (especially with the newer versions) and it’s a very powerful editor. There are a number of different versions of Vegas with varying price tags, not really sure what the difference between them is, other than presumably the cheaper versions will have fewer features.