Vuforia in FRC: Is AR on an FRC robot possible?

I saw this year that PTC is giving some awesome tools to FIRST students in the virtual KOP again for 2020. I know that in FTC, Vuforia is offered as a way to do some sort of AR based field navigation and recognition, which I know to be because they don’t use retro-reflective tape like on an FRC field. As I see it, it seems PTC is marketing all these tools to both FRC and FTC students. Is it possible to run Vuforia AR on a FRC robot?

1 Like

Lordy, I hope there isn’t tape.

3 Likes

I have very little experience working with that particular software suite. However, given it’s “just software”, I’d feel safe saying the answer to the question as written is “Yes”.

The question I have - “Why”?

Limelight seems to be the gold standard in vision processing for FRC at the moment. Is there a significant advantage a hunk of hardware running Vuforia has over limelight?

1 Like

Vuforia is great, and I have wondered why it isn’t used in FRC. Yes, it can do AR, but it also has really powerful object recognition tools built in. The FTC teams in our club have used Vuforia very successfully to read the beacon colors in Velocity Vortex, recognize the jewel colors and find the block colors in Relic Recovery and find the order of the minerals in Rover Ruckus to drive auto routines. It does not require the use of retroreflective tape and seems to do a really good job of recognizing objects. It runs really well on the FTC phones. I assume it could also run on a RasPi or similar FRC co-processor.

It’s been out there for a while. I am still wondering why no one seems to be using it in FRC.

1 Like

We (sister team 7152) tried using a magic leap this year but head ref pointed out it’s illegal because it prevents refs from seeing our eyes which was a saftey concern .(I’m assuming when u say AR you are talking about a driver Station HUD)

Hmmmm…