What Are Some Good Resources to Give Someone Who is Just Starting Out With C++?

Hello, so I am just starting out on programming on my team and I am having to be self-taught for the beginning. I was told that this was a good robotics community so I wanted to ask you guys if you are just starting out with C++, what are some good resources that can get me knowing the basics within a couple of months?

While I recommend Java for new programmers (it is more forgiving, and less details to worry about), the WPI library site will take you though some good examples on how to program robots.

As for never touching code before, it’s tough. Normally a class that takes you though things is a good first step. Maybe look into udemy courses? There are also some teams that give great tutorials on how to learn programming from scratch, but I can’t remember who makes them off the top of my head

Thank you for the information! I have a few months to know at least the basics, but I can totally look into everything. I can tell you that I am committed to this new thing :smiley:

Here’s my team’s C++ curriculum if you need it.
https://frc3512.github.io/ci/intro-to-cpp/

There’s other stuff at Curriculum and instruction - FRC Team 3512. Where lots of teams mess up is writing C++ as it was in 2003 with pointers everywhere. If you stick to stack allocations for robot code, you’ll end up with pretty simple code that does what you need. It’s also generally less verbose than the equivalent Java.

For example, do this:

#include <frc/Joystick.h>
#include <frc/SpeedControllerGroup.h>
#include <frc/TimedRobot.h>
#include <frc/VictorSPX.h>
#include <frc/drive/DifferentialDrive.h>

class Robot : public frc::TimedRobot {
public:
    frc::Joystick drive1{0};
    frc::Joystick drive2{1};
    frc::Joystick arm{2};

frc::VictorSPX flMotor{0};
    frc::VictorSPX rlMotor{1};
    frc::SpeedControllerGroup left{flMotor, rlMotor};

frc::VictorSPX frMotor{2};
    frc::VictorSPX rrMotor{3};