What does it look like to "network with the judges"

At all the regional/district events I’ve been to, it’s always been said by the announcer that team members should speak with and network with the judges, because they are apart of companies we may want to work at some day. My question would be how would one begin to do this? What lines should I use if I want to talk with a judge?

Edit: I am a student on the team, not a mentor

2 Likes

Not sure of the context here but if you are a mentor you DON’T speak to the judges. Step back. Ask your kids later what was discussed. For students you generally need to wait for them to come to you. The thing you should work on is how to steer the conversation into areas that show your strengths, and to give them a sense that they need to come back for a follow up visit. But remember they are in charge of the judging process.

“What’s a judge like you doing in a place like this?”.

Seriously though, something like “Hey have you got a few minutes to talk about where you work?”

You know what would make this easier/better? If FIRST published a list of Judges (and other volunteers) and where they work. So you could find judges at companies you are especially interested in.

1 Like

If you’re referring to networking as a student for future employment, theres a few things.

1 be competent. You dont want to trying to network and being remembered as the awkward rude wrong information person.

2 be polite. Let them ask their questions and then ask how they got involved in FIRST. From there the conversation is fluid.

Also with that you can ask if you can take their information down if they seem like someone youre going to genuinely be trying to talk with about professional opportunities. Not all of them are going to be comfortable with it. And sometimes the conversation may never get that far. Do not push it straight to that point.

I remember events handing out booklets that had this information.

1 Like