What is Classmate

Quick intro as this is my first post. I am team lead for a rookie team and am really excited to do FRC (I did FTC my freshman year, I’m now a sophomore). Anyway I was trying to educate myself on FRC especially it’s control system and programming since it seems a lot more complicated (read interesting) than RobotC plus I’m my teams programmer. So on the kit of parts I saw a USB drive that had a Classmate image and then I saw some forum posts about Classmate. Naturally I started to wonder what Classmate is. I did a search on the forum with the terms what is classmate but i couldn’t find any threads on it (if I missed one please point me to it). So my question is what is classmate and what purpose does it serve?

Thanks in advance

It’s a netbook computer.

It runs the Driver Station software which communicates with the robot.

The Classmate is the driver’s station provided by FIRST. It’s a portable computer.

You’ll get one in your kit of parts, as you’re a rookie team. Take good care of it; it’s supposed to last until another driver’s station is chosen…

Thanks! (boy that was quick)
So if it’s a netbook why is there a usb drive with an image of it? Is that an install image incase a reinstall is neccesary? If so would it be able to (and useful to) install it on other hardware/a vm so that we have multiple computers that can run the driver station?

Yes.

If so would it be able to (and useful to) install it on other hardware/a vm so that we have multiple computers that can run the driver station?

You cannot use the Classmate image on any arbitrary computer. It is specific to the Classmate.

You can however install the Driver Station software on any computer you choose.

Exactly. Sometimes the classmate can go a little crazy and needs to be reimaged.

If so would it be able to (and useful to) install it on other hardware/a vm so that we have multiple computers that can run the driver station?