What qualifies as a team affiliation?

This is my first year volunteering without directly being a member of a team. I typically fill the CSA role at district level competitions, but this year I may volunteer as an FTAA as well. As a team alumni, I’ve stayed in contact loosely with my team via their Slack and email, namely as a resource for questions. As I now live hours away, I don’t physically volunteer with the team, nor does my help constitute substantially more than if someone on CD tagged me or DMed me a specific question.

Would my contact with my team still count as a team affiliation/does it matter? Is it worth disclosing on the volunteer form? I’m erring on the side of over disclosure, but I’m also genuinely curious as to if anyone has any insight about what team affiliation really means and how HQ/VCs look at it.

As a CSA, I don’t feel as though team affiliation has any real bearing on the role (nor does it in the minds of HQ apparently) since you provide help and support for all teams in a way that typically has no direct bearing on match outcomes (CSAs only respond to the shots called by the FTA when it comes to tough choices). As an FTAA, you still don’t make the team-impacting choices directly, but you are closer to that process, which is why it feels like the situation may be different.

1 Like

While im probably not the best person to answer, I think team affiliation only really comes into play with the Ref’s/Judges, and outside of that youre expected to keep everything fair. I’d disclose either way (havent been around the local FLL team in like years but I know the mentor really well so I avoid judging them) and id assume its something similar at the upper levels.

I think @ndp was an FTAA while being on a team which would also make me think that being affiliated at all doesnt matter for it.