What states require a Senior Project?

I’m a senior from Seattle, and I was required to do a Culminating Project in order to graduate, as is every senior in Washington State.

I was talking to a friend from Oregon, and he said the Senior Project was a state requirement there, too.

That made me curious. Which states require a senior project, and which don’t? Do all states require it?

Please tell me if your state requires a senior project, gentle reader, so curiosity doesn’t kill me.

Thanks!

North Carolina does. My friends have to do a Senior Project that is due today. I feel so bad for them. I am so glad we only have FCAT sarcasm to see if we graduate or not. lol

Back when I graduated from H.S. in California, no project was necessary. However, there was the California High School Proficiency Exam (CHSPE) to contend with.

Michigan doesn’t require a senior project, and I can’t think of any standardized testing that we have during our senior year either. The last big standardized thing we have is the Michigan Merit Exam (MMEs), which is junior year.

I don’t know if it’s a state requirement (I don’t believe any of the nearby school districts have a similar project, but I could be wrong), but all seniors in Webster, New York are required to complete a project that either betters themselves or the community, complete with a supervising mentor and full documentation of the project.

It’s quite a task, but it is required for graduation, and can really help some student find out a lot about themselves (though many choose an overwhelmingly nonsense task like learning to sew, learning to play guitar, “learning” things they already know how to do. I’m not trying to judge other people’s projects, but it totally defeats the purpose of the project, especially when a number of kids actually have fun or learn from their’s).