What to use as a electronics board.

I am a part of a rookie team and we are trying to decide on what to use to mount our electronics. We have very little machining resources but may be able to call in our one favor of the year to get a neighbor team to make this for us. We are using a VersaChassis with 3 CIM ball shifters on it. I have attached a drawing of what the board has to look like to not get in the way of the belts or the shifter 3rd stage.

We were thinking of using a couple different things. One way a sheet of aluminum then polycarbonate on top to prevent short circuits. We also thought of wood then polycarbonate, just polycarbonate or the polycarbonate with holes in it that andymark sells. We were then going to use industrial strength Velcro to attach most of the components.

Are there any suggestions of what worked for your team in the past or what was easiest.

Thanks

BASE PLATE.pdf (48 KB)

BASE PLATE.pdf (48 KB)

I would just cut this out of a 1/8th inch sheet of polycarbonate with my 10 dollar Jigsaw. No AL or wood.

Where would you get it from? If you get it on McMaster-Carr then which version would you get? The impact resistant or the ultra-impact resistant?

We just purchased two rectangular pieces and used the flanges to mount the boards. Clamped them down and match drilled some mounting holes.

Traditionally we have used 1/4" birch plywood for an electronics board, doubt we will change up the final one this year but who knows.

We use 3/16" ABS as it’s more rigid than polycarbonate. We’ve also used 3/16" expanded foam PVC. That’s not a indestructible but it’s a tiny bit lighter.

I’ve used aluminum, I’ve used lexan, I’ve used wood. Unless you’re in weight trouble or have other considerations, use what you can fabricate. You can get nice looking results from a decent piece of wood (birch or similar) and a coat of paint.

Start with wood. the cRIO grounds, so wood will help get that out of the equation. It is also very strong!