Whats the deal w/ big balls?

Posted by rebecca at 1/9/2001 5:27 AM EST

Student on team #192, gunn robotics team, from gunn high school.

so uh, what the heck. raul says big balls on the side are 10 pts, but i seem to remember from the kick off that they are not. that would kind of elininate that 10% thing, too…

also, team update #2 is here, and no mention of the big balls is made.

someone please clarify; this could significantly alter our strategy!

Posted by j at 1/9/2001 6:30 PM EST

Student on team #173, RAGE, from Rockville High and United Technologies Research Center.

In Reply to: Whats the deal w/ big balls?
Posted by rebecca on 1/9/2001 5:27 AM EST:

k, there are four different colored big balls(one for each team in the alliance). if a big ball is in a goal it generates ten points for everyone, but if it’s your team’s color, you (and you alone, not the other three teams) get an additional 10% of match’s score. hope that helps

Posted by rebecca at 1/10/2001 2:49 AM EST

Student on team #192, gunn robotics team, from gunn high school.

In Reply to: Re: Whats the deal w/ big balls?
Posted by j on 1/9/2001 6:30 PM EST:

Does it state anywhere in the rules or updates that big balls on the side of the goal give you points?

Posted by j at 1/10/2001 2:58 PM EST

Student on team #173, RAGE, from Rockville High and United Technologies Research Center.

In Reply to: Rules?
Posted by rebecca on 1/10/2001 2:49 AM EST:

: Does it state anywhere in the rules or updates that big balls on the side of the goal give you points?

they stated at the kickoff that you can’t do that, sorry!

Posted by Khalid at 1/14/2001 9:04 PM EST

Student on team #486, The Positronic Panthers, from Strath Haven High School.

In Reply to: Re: Rules?
Posted by j on 1/10/2001 2:58 PM EST:

Actually, in one of the updates it does say that the goal can be on its side and have the four large balls balanced. cited: Q11 Team Update 3

: : Does it state anywhere in the rules or updates that big balls on the side of the goal give you points?

: they stated at the kickoff that you can’t do that, sorry!

Posted by Lora Knepper at 1/9/2001 6:32 PM EST

Other on team #419, Rambots, from UMass Boston / Boston College High School and Seeking Sponsorship.

In Reply to: Whats the deal w/ big balls?
Posted by rebecca on 1/9/2001 5:27 AM EST:

Raul is correct. The large balls are worth 10pts to the ALLIANCE when balanced on top of a goal…but they are also worth an extra 10% to YOUR TEAM’S score - but only if it’s your color ball for the 10% Make sense?

~ lora

Posted by Ken Leung at 1/9/2001 6:43 PM EST

Student on team #192, Gunn Robotics Team, from Henry M. Gunn Senior High School.

In Reply to: Whats the deal w/ big balls?
Posted by rebecca on 1/9/2001 5:27 AM EST:

I believe what she was trying to ask about is when the goal fall on its side, will balls put on the goal count. At kickoff, they said that putting big balls on the goal in that case will not receive the 10 pts, thus the additional 10% to any team will be eliminated too. She didn’t need to ask about the purpose of the big balls as it’s clearly stated in the rules.